I’m a girl on the run

If you were craving berry crumble pie after you saw that last picture, here is the recipe I used!

4 cups frozen berries (blueberries and blackberries)

3 tablespoons cornstarch

1/2 cup sugar

1 tbsp lemon juice

Mix together over medium heat, wait until it boils. Simmer 4-5 minutes, then add 1 tbsp lemon juice.

In the mean time…

Mix 1/3 cup cold butter, 1/3 cup flour, 1 cup oats and 1/2 cup brown sugar to make the topping. I also sprinkled cinnamon on top.

Pour berries into any size baking pan you wish, put the topping on and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

And voila!

In other news, yesterday I got a quick run in before an interview with Girls on the Run of Saint Louis. This is a non-profit organization that empowers young women through training groups in middle school around the city. Their goal is to keep young girls healthy, provide confidence and a safe activity that will hopefully be a positive influence for the rest of their lives. They organize races throughout the year for the girls to run in and to raise money to better support and expand their locations.

I was really inspired by the mission of this organization and wanted to be involved right away. I interviewed to be considered for an internship this Fall, and to also become an assistant coach to a group of girls at a school nearby. The interview went really well and I was offered the position!! I am so excited, and can’t wait to learn more and more about all aspects of Girls on the Run!

To celebrate, Jenny and I went to paint me pottery and painted some huge coffee mugs, got dinner and rented way too many movies! I am looking forward to catching up with my favorite tv show Weeds (I kinda want to be Nancy in a odd way) There might have been some pie and ice cream involved as well…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’m a girl on the run

  1. mom

    Yumm. Looks like it was delish!

Leave a Reply

